The Washington Commanders have secured their new special teams coordinator, as reported by Ben Standig of The Athletic.

Larry Izzo, a three-time Super Bowl winner and former special teams standout for the New England Patriots, has been appointed to the role. After retiring, Izzo transitioned into coaching, with a two-year stint as the special teams coordinator for the Texans before joining the Seahawks in 2018.

Larry Izzo once gave "going for two" new meaning on the Patriots sideline - NBC Sports

During his six-year tenure in Seattle, half of which he spent as the special teams coordinator, Izzo’s units consistently ranked in the top 10 in FTN’s DVOA (subscription required) for all three seasons under his guidance. With the departure of Pete Carroll from the Seahawks, Izzo became a sought-after name in this coaching cycle, ultimately landing with Dan Quinn’s staff in Washington.

In other coaching developments for the Commanders, Joe Whitt Jr., the new defensive coordinator, is bolstering his staff with experienced additions. Ken Norton Jr., a former Cowboys and 49ers star, joins as the new linebackers coach. Norton had previously served as the Raiders’ defensive coordinator for three years and spent four years leading the Seahawks’ defense.

On the defensive side, Washington is bringing in John Pagano in an undisclosed role and Jason Simmons as the defensive pass-game coordinator. Pagano, a former Chargers and Raiders defensive coordinator, most recently served as the Broncos’ outside linebackers coach. Simmons, with almost a decade of coaching experience with the Packers, previously worked as the pass-game coordinator for the Panthers and Raiders.

Offensively, Bobby Johnson has been appointed as the offensive line coach, with a wealth of experience guiding tight ends and offensive linemen, including the past two years with the Giants. The Commanders are also retaining Tavita Pritchard as their quarterbacks coach, resisting interest from other teams.

However, not all coaches will be returning for the Commanders in 2024. Todd Storm (tight ends coach), Juan Castillo (run game coordinator), Travelle Wharton (offensive line coach), and Richard Rodgers (senior defensive assistant/safeties coach) will not be part of the coaching staff moving forward, as reported by Nicki Jhabvala of the Washington Post.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *